External Advisory Committee

Sailboat along ChicagoIllinois-Indiana Sea Grant’s external advisory committee is comprised of industry, conservation, community, and agency leaders representing the bi-state area and broader Great Lakes region. The committee aids in defining IISG’s strategic goals, including providing guidance throughout the strategic planning process. It helps IISG assume a vital role in the science and practice of coastal restoration and management in our region.

External advisory committee members listed below will serve their term from 2022 – 2025. The leaders of the Illinois Coastal Management Program and the Indiana Coastal Management Program are ex-officio members and will remain on the IISG external advisory committee.

  • Ania Bayers – Acting Program Director, Illinois Coastal Management Program
  • Jennifer Day – Regional Coordinator, NOAA Great Lakes Regional Collaboration Team
  • Chuck Knapp – Vice President, Conservation Research, Shedd Aquarium 
  • Paul Labovitz – Superintendent, Indiana Dunes National Park
  • Jenny Orsburn – Program Manager, Indiana Lake Michigan Coastal Program
  • Vic Santucci – Lake Michigan Program Manager, Illinois Department of Natural Resources
  • Mike Searcy – Treasurer, Indiana Aquaculture Association; Owner, White Creek Farms of Indiana LLC
Skip to content